image displayed if flash reader not installed<

Best Reviews of Internet Security Products

Share |

These are the best reviews of personal firewall, wireless routers, anti-spyware, Internet security suites, anti-virus, spam stoppers, and parental controls / content filters that we have been able to find online.

Personal Firewalls (for more reviews, see our Firewall page)
  • Proactive Security Challenge, [firewalls, suites, hips] Matousec, last update Feb 17, 2011 -- top rated firewalls include Comodo Internet Security, Online Solutions Security Suite, Outpost Security Suite Pro, Kaspersky Internet Security 2011, Malware Defender, and Privatefirewall.
  • Best Free Firewall, Cyberlightning, Gizmos's Freeware, last update Sept 23, 2010 -- Comodo Firewall, Online Armor Free, Zone Alarm Free Firewall 2010, Outpost Firewall Free, Privatefirewall.
  • Firewalls, Consumer Search, April 2010, best firewall is Online Armor, best free firewall is Comodo Internet Security.
  • Personal Firewall Software 2011 -- 11 products [4 firewalls, 7 security suites], TopTenReviews

Wireless Routers

 (for more reviews, see our Wireless page)
  • Wireless Router Reviews, Consumer Search, updated January 2011 -- Apple Airport Extreme, Netgear WNDR3700, Linksys E2000
  • Wireless Routers Review 2011 -- 10 products, Top Ten Reviews 
  • Router Roundup: We Review 7 Top-Tier Routers, Michael Brown, maximumpc, 10/27/2010 -- editor's choice is Netgear WNDR3700 RangeMax V1, other products included are Asus RT-N16, Belkin Play N600 HD, Buffalo AirStation Nfiniti, D-Link DIR-855 Xtreme N, Linksys E3000, Trendnet TEW-673GRU
  • How to Buy a Wireless Router, Samara Lynn, PC Magazine, July 15, 2010 -- editor's choices included Cisco Valet Plus, D-Link DIR-825 Xtreme N Dual Band Gigabit Router, D-Link Xtreme N Duo Media Router (DIR-855), D-Link Xtreme N Storage Router (DIR-685), Linksys by Cisco Dual Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router WRT320N.

 Anti-Spyware

(for more reviews, see our Anti-Spyware page)
  • Anti-Spyware Reviews, Consumer Search, Feb 2011, best software is PC Tools Spyware Doctor 2010, best budget software is Sunbelt CounterSpy, security suite with best spyware protection is Norton Internet Security 2010, best free removal tool is Lavasoft Ad-Aware.
  • Anti-Spyware Software 2011 -- 13 products, TopTenReviews

Security Suites

 (for more reviews, see our Security Suites page)

Anti-Virus (for more reviews, see our Anti-Virus page)

Spam Stoppers (for more reviews, see our Anti-Spam page)
  • Spam Filter Reviews, Consumer Search, April 2010, the best web-based spam-filtering service is ClearMyMail, best anti-spam software is Cloudmark Desktop, and the best free spam blocker is SpamFighter. 
  • Spam Filter 2011 -- 9 products, TopTenReviews

Parental Controls & Content Filters

 (for more reviews, see our Kid Safe page)
  • Parental Control Software, Consumer Search, April 2010 -- NetNanny best, CyberPatrol most versatile, OnlineFamily.Norton best web based, Safe Eyes best for Macs.
  • Keep Your Child Safe Online, Neil Rubenking, PC Magazine, March 1, 2010 -- 4.5 Net Nanny 6.5 (Editor's Choice), 4 OnlineFamily.Norton (free), 4 Spector Pro 2009, 4 CyberPatrol Parental Controls 7.7, 4 PC Pandora 6.0, 4 Safe Eyes 6.0, 3.5 KidZui 5.0, 3 K9 Web Protection 4.0, 3 Webroot Parental Controls, 2.5 Peanut Butter PC 3.0, 2.5 Hoopah Kidview Computer Explorer 6, 2.5 Netgear Live Parental Controls (free), 2 NETBLOX.
  • Internet Filter Software 2011 -- 9 products, TopTenReviews
  • Macintosh, see Intego -- NetBarrier (firewall+), Virus Barrier, Personal AntiSpam, Chat Barrier, Content Barrier, DiskGuard, FileGuard, Personal Backup and Internet Security Barrier (several suites).